Sunday, March 22, 2009


Final Score
Saint John- 2
Cape Breton- 5

Notes: Cape Breton takes 2-0 series lead
Josh Schram did not play due to a shoulder injury
Robert Mayer was pulled in the second period after allowing four goals
Healthy scratch Philippe Richer did solid job as a colour commentator on News 88.9

Saturday, March 21, 2009

Sydney flavour

Some nice articles featuring the Sea Dogs top snipers and Cape Breton natives- Ryan Sparling and Michael Kirkpatrick.

North Sydney's Kirkpatrick hopes to lead his Sea Dogs to upset
Sparling to battle Eagles for fianal time

Pre-Game Notes- March 21/09

Saint John Sea Dogs @ Cape Breton Screaming Eagles
Game 2

Center 200, Sydney, Nova Scotia
March 21, 2009

Pre-Game Notes
· Game two of the best-of-seven division quarter final series
· Cape Breton leads series 1-0
· Last game: 5-4 overtime win for Cape Breton
· Expected Starters: Robert Mayer versus Olivier Roy
· Scratches for Saint John: Stephen McAuley (healthy scratch), Philippe Richer (healthy scratch), Josh Schram (shoulder)

Final (OT): SEA DOGS- 4 EAGLES- 5

Final Score (overtime)
Saint John- 4
Cape Breton- 5

Notes: Cape Breton takes a 1-0 series lead.

Screaming Eagles strike in overtime

Haddad’s late game heroics lead Eagles over Sea Dogs

Haddad lifts Eagles to OT win in Game 1

Friday, March 20, 2009

Pre-Game Notes- March 20/09

Saint John Sea Dogs vs. Cape Breton Screaming Eagles
Game 1

Center 200, Sydney, Nova Scotia
March 20, 2009

Pre Game Notes
· Game one of the best of seven series in this divisional quarter final series
· Saint John is 2-4-1-1 versus Cape Breton in the regular season.
· Ryan Sparling has been cleared to play for the first time in 11 games
· Screech, the Screaming Eagles mascot, had his costume stolen earlier this week and will be forced to suit up with his old outfit. The Cape Breton Regional Police are investigating the incident.
· Tonight’s game is on Eastlink television in Nova Scotia.
· Saint John and Cape Breton are both coming off loses in the final day of the regular season.
· Expected Starters- Robert Mayer vs Olivier Roy
· Stephen McCauley, Philippe Richer, Robert McEwin scratched for Saint John

Wednesday, March 18, 2009

Around the Q has SJ Flavour Tonight at 6:30

This week, "Inside the Q" turns its attention to the 2009 President Cup playoffs as your host, Rog Laplante, welcomes Saint John Sea Dogs GM and Head Coach Jacques Beaulieu, who will talk about the challenges his team faces against their first round opponents, the Cape Breton Screaming Eagles.Moreover, "Q" expert Nathan White of the Telegraph-Journal breaks down the first round and gives listeners his predictions.

The show begins at 6:30 atlantic, on

Source: QMJHL

Despres Nominated

Simon Despres succes will continue following the season, as he has been nominated for two awards. The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League announced today that the "horse" is up for the Top Prospect award and best Defensive Defenseman award. Despres will be joined by Payton Liske in Montreal, who is up for the top scholastic player award. The entire list can be seen below:

Michel-Brière Trophy (Most Valuable Player)

Cédric Lalonde-McNicoll – Shawinigan Cataractes

Yannick Riendeau – Drummondville Voltigeurs

Nicola Riopel – Moncton Wildcats

RDS Cup (Rookie of the Year)

Ben Duffy – P.E.I. Rocket

Brandon Gormley – Moncton Wildcats

Simon Jodoin – Moncton Wildcats

Dmitri Kugryshev – Quebec Remparts

Dmitry Kulikov – Drummondville Voltigeurs

Sergey Ostapchuk – Rouyn-Noranda Huskies

Émile « Butch » Bouchard Trophy (Best Defenseman)

Marc-André Bourdon – Rimouski Océanic

Dmitry Kulikov – Drummondville Voltigeurs

Charles-Olivier Roussel – Shawinigan Cataractes

Frank-J.-Selke Trophy (Sportsman of the Year)

Paul Byron – Gatineau Olympiques

Cédric Lalonde-McNicoll – Shawinigan Cataractes

Félix Petit – Baie-Comeau Drakkar

Michael-Bossy Trophy (Top Professional Prospect)

Simon Després – Saint John Sea Dogs

Dmitry Kulikov – Drummondville Voltigeurs

Charles-Olivier Roussel – Shawinigan Cataractes

Marcel-Robert Trophy (TELUS Scholastic Player of the Year)

Guillaume Goulet - Baie-Comeau Drakkar

Dominic Jalbert – Chicoutimi Saguenéens

Payton Liske – Saint John Sea Dogs

Dany Massé - Drummondville Voltigeurs

Pierre-Alexandre Vandall – Shawinigan Cataractes

Ron-Lapointe Trophy (Coach of the Year)

Guy Boucher – Drummondville Voltigeurs

Danny Flynn – Moncton Wildcats

Éric Veilleux – Shawinigan Cataractes

Paul-Dumont Trophy (Top Personnality)

Guy Boucher – Drummondville Voltigeurs

André Coulombe – Baie-Comeau Drakkar

Angelo Esposito – Montreal Juniors

Humanitarian of the Year

Chris Culligan – Cape Breton Screaming Eagles

Matthew Pistilli – Shawinigan Cataractes

Kelsey Tessier – Quebec Remparts

Seven other awards, including the Jean-Rougeau, Luc-Robitaille and Robert-Lebel trophies, will be handed out during on-ice presentations at the start of the playoffs on Friday, March 20.

Michel-Bergeron Trophy (Offensive Rookie of the Year)

Ben Duffy – P.E.I. Rocket

Dmitri Kugryshev – Quebec Remparts

Sergey Ostapchuk – Rouyn-Noranda Huskies

Raymond-Lagacé Trophy (Deffensive Rookie of the Year)

Brandon Gormley – Moncton Wildcats

Simon Jodoin – Moncton Wildcats

Dmitry Kulikov – Drummondville Voltigeurs

Guy-Carbonneau Trophy (Best Defensive Forward)

Jean-Philip Chabot – Gatineau Olympiques

Marc-Olivier Vachon – Drummondville Voltigeurs

Marc-Olivier Vallerand – Quebec Remparts

Kevin-Lowe Trophy (Best Defensive Defenseman)

Simon Després – Saint John Sea Dogs

Maxime Ouimet – Rimouski Océanic

David Savard – Moncton Wildcats

Of note, the three following trophies will be awarded during the QMJHL Annual Session in June. The nominees will be announced at a later date.

Maurice-Fillion Trophy (General-manager of the Year)

John-Horman Trophy (Executive of the Year)

Jean-Sawyer Trophy (Marketing Director of the Year)

Source: QMJHL; photo QMJHL

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

"Kirky" Wins Big at Team Awards Banquet

After 68 games in the QMJHL regular season, the Saint John Sea Dogs relaxed at the forth annual team awards banquet. The annual even was held once again at the Delta Brunswick hotel- the official hotel of the Saint John Sea Dogs. The event was hosted by the Sea Dogs and News 88.9 and Saint John Sea Dogs play-by-play man Tim Roszell. A list of the evenings winners can be seen below:

Aliant Most Valuable Player: Michael Kirkpatrick
Coca-Cola Top Scorer Trophy: Michael Kirkpatrick
Irving Oil Team Player: David Stich
Tim Hortons Most Improved Player: Mike Thomas
Children's Wish Foundation Fan Choice Award: Yann Sauve
Investors Group Top Defenseman: Simon Despres
Net Difference Rookie of the Year: Kevin Gagne
Alpine Three Stars Award: Robert Mayer
Saint John Airport Authority Academic Player of the Year: Payton Liske
Scotiabank Community Service Award: Alexandre Leduc

Source: Telegraph-Journal;