Tuesday, August 28, 2012

2012-13 Roster Announced

The Saint John Sea Dogs announced their 25-man roster for the 2012-13 campaign this afternoon. Sea Dogs training camp has been on hiatus since last Wednesday and will begin again – this time with veteran players included – on September 4.

25 players – two goaltenders, eight defensemen, and 15 forwards – will be in attendance next week. Here’s the roster:

30 G Alex Fournier
33 G Sebastien Auger 
3 D Olivier LeBlanc
4 D Ryan Kelly
5 D Benjamin Hade
8 D David Weckworth
21 D Kevin Gagne
23 D Pierre Durepos
25 D Michael Mastrangelo
28 D Jurij Repe 
7 F Jakub Izacky
9 F Stephen MacAulay
10 F Marcus Cuomo
11 F Jonathan Huberdeau
12 F Devon Oliver-Dares
14 F Jason Cameron
15 F Matthew Highmore
16 F Andreas Tsogkas
18 F Spencer Smallman
19 F Ryan Tesink
22 F Aidan Kelly
24 F MacKenzie Brown
26 F Noah Zilbert
27 F Oliver Cooper
37 F Stephen Anderson

The roster includes returning regular players Sebastien Auger, Stephen MacAulay, Jonathan Huberdeau, Devon Oliver-Dares, Jason Cameron, Ryan Tesink, Kevin Gagne, Aidan Kelly, Pierre Durepos, and Oliver Cooper.

12 of players took part in Sea Dogs rookie camp last week. Olivier Leblanc, Marcus Cuomo, Matthew Highmore, Spencer Smallman, and Noah Zilbert were all selected by the team in the 2012 Quebec Major Junior Hockey League Entry Draft. Highmore, who had shoulder surgery a few months ago, did not take part in rookie camp.

The team’s 20-year olds will be MacAulay, Gagne, and Durepos – a solid trio for a team entering a rebuilding year. Newcomers Jurij Repe and Jakub Izacky will replace Stanislav Galiev and Tomas Jurco as imports.

Michael Mastrangelo and Andreas Tsogkas are both from Ontario and have OHL experience with the Brampton Battalion.

Saint John’s next pre-season game is on September 7 in Amherst against the Moncton Wildcats.

No comments:

Post a Comment