Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Rimouski Wins President Cup

Michael Joly’s goal at 2:13 of the second overtime period won the Rimouski Oceanic the President Cup last night.

The Oceanic won the 2015 QMJHL championship in seven games, erasing 2-0 and 3-2 series deficits. The final three games of the series were all decided in overtime with Monday’s championship game being the most dramatic.

The most intriguing part of the series was the success the road team had. The road team had won every game of the series until Rimouski’s victory last night.

This is the third President Cup title in Oceanic history and the first since the Sidney Crosby led 2004-05 team.

With Quebec hosting this year’s Memorial Cup, both the Remparts and Oceanic will appear in the tournament. Quebec opens up the tournament on Friday against the WHL champion Kelowna Rockets. Rimouski plays OHL champion Oshawa on Saturday.

The Remparts won the 2006 Memorial Cup after losing the league championship to the Moncton Wildcats. Can Quebec do it again?

Quebec’s roster includes former Sea Dogs forward Marcus Cuomo who finished the playoffs with two goals and an assist in seven games. He played in three President Cup final games.

No comments:

Post a Comment