Thursday, May 12, 2016

Huskies Win President Cup

The Rouyn-Noranda Huskies completed a dominant season on Thursday night, defeating the Shawinigan Cataractes 7-2 in Game 5 of the QMJHL final to win the franchise’s first President Cup championship.

Huskies captain Francis Perron, who finished the playoffs with 12 goals and 21 assists in 18 games, was named the post-season MVP.

The Huskies went 54-9-3-2 in the regular season, finishing 11 points ahead of the next closest team. Other than a tough semifinal series against the Moncton Wildcats, the Huskies cruised through the playoffs, finishing 16-4 and a +57 goal differential.

This was just the second time Rouyn-Noranda had reached the President Cup final. They lost to the Gatineau Olympiques in 2008. Meanwhile, the Cataractes, who have been around forever, are still waiting for their first league title.

Nine different teams have now won the President Cup over the past 10 seasons. The Sea Dogs are the only team to win two during that timespan.

The Huskies will now represent the QMJHL at the Memorial Cup in Red Deer. They’ll join the host Rebels, OHL champion London Knights and the yet-to-be-determined WHL champion. The Brandon Wheat Kings currently lead the WHL final 3-1 over the Seattle Thunderbirds.

The QMJHL champs begin the Memorial Cup tournament on Saturday, May 21 against the WHL champion.

No comments:

Post a Comment