Saturday, June 15, 2013

Huberdeau Wins Calder Trophy

Jonathan Huberdeau has won the Calder Memorial Trophy as the National Hockey League’s 2012-13 Rookie of the Year.

Huberdeau received the award this evening in Chicago before Game 2 of the Stanley Cup Final took place between the Blackhawks and Boston Bruins.

The former Saint John Sea Dogs captain beat out Montreal’s Brendan Gallagher and Chicago’s Brandon Saad to win the award. The winner of the Calder was sort of leaked by TSN.

Huberdeau recorded 14 goals and 17 assists with the Florida Panthers to finish his first pro season with 31 points in 48 games. He finished in a tie with Edmonton’s Nail Yakupov - who was not nominated for the Calder Trophy – for the rookie scoring lead. Huberdeau’s 14 goals were third most amongst rookies behind Yakupov (17) and Gallagher (15). His 17 assists were fourth most. He did all this while playing hurt most of the year.

The Panthers have never had a player win the award previously. It’s big for Huberdeau, big for the Panthers, and also a big deal for the Sea Dogs. Not a whole lot of teams can say they developed a Calder Trophy winner.

This was a great year for the Sea Dogs at the NHL level as six former players – Huberdeau, Charlie Coyle, Simon Despres, Nathan Beaulieu, Mike Hoffman, and Eric Gelinas – all played in The Show.

No comments:

Post a Comment