Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Jurco, Griffins Win Calder Cup

Tomas Jurco and the Grand Rapids Griffins are 2013 Calder Cup Champions.

The Griffins won their first American Hockey League championship last night with a 5-2 victory over the Syracuse Crunch. Grand Rapids, who led the best-of-seven series 3-0 at one point, won the trophy in six games.

Tomas Tatar had two goals for the Griffins while singles came from Mitch Callahan, Joakim Andersson, and Brennan Evans. Petr Mrazek made 24 saves in the victory. Jurco was held pointless and was a -1.

It’s the third straight year that Jurco’s season ended with a championship. He helped Saint John win back-to-back President Cup titles in 2011 and 2012 as well as the 2011 Memorial Cup.

The Slovakian, a second-round pick of the Detroit Red Wings in 2011, had a solid playoff run. He recorded eight goals and six assists in 24 post-season games after registering 14 goals and 14 assists in 74 regular season contests.

The Crunch roster featured former Sea Dogs forward Danick Gauthier. He did not play in any playoff games, though.

No comments:

Post a Comment