Sunday, July 10, 2011

Sea Dogs Notebook

It’s looking more and more likely that Michael Kirkpatrick’s new team will be called the Ice Caps.

The St. John’s Telegram newspaper has been speculating about the new American Hockey League team name for a few weeks now and it’s looking like ‘Ice Caps’ will be the name of the Winnipeg Jets’ affiliate.

As you can see in The Telegram comments section, there are plenty of negative opinions about the name choice. As they point out, there is no escaping the connection between the name and Tim Hortons.

It was announced a few weeks ago that Kirkpatrick, the Saint John Sea Dogs’ all-time leading scorer, had signed a two-year deal with the team formerly known as the Manitoba Moose. On July 1, the Cape Breton Post had article on the North Sydney native signing with the AHL team.

“It was a good deal and to play in St. John’s, it’s pretty close to home and I know some people over there, so it’s going to be a great experience for me,” he said. “I played over there when they had the Fog Devils and it’s a great hockey city.”

Sea Dogs mascot Fleaburn posted this on his Facebook page yesterday:

Hello all, want to thank everyone for adding me as a friend and for all the pictures and messages you posted over the last 2 years, just wanted to let you know I will be closing this page by next weekend, so once again thanks to you all.

Fleaburn clarified in the comments section that the mascot will be staying but the person inside will be changing.

The fury beast replaced Splash as Sea Dogs mascot at the beginning of the 2009-10 season. Fleaburn quickly became one of the top mascots in the league and was a massive improvement over Splash.

Thanks for your hard work. You will be missed.

The Chronicle Herald’s Willy Palov was quite impressed with the Sea Dogs showing at the NHL Entry Draft.

Having Nathan Beaulieu (17th, Montreal) and Zack Phillips (28th, Minnesota) also go in the first round, as well as Tomas Jurco (35th, Detroit) early in the second round, made for an incredible showing by the Sea Dogs. Ryan Tesink also went in the sixth round to the St. Louis Blues, giving Saint John five drafted players. It doesn’t get much more impressive than that.

He also noted that Jonathan Huberdeau was the highest QMJHL player taken in the draft since Sidney Crosby went first overall to the Pittsburgh Penguins back in 2005.

According to this video, Jason Seed brought the Memorial Cup home on Canada Day.


No comments:

Post a Comment