Saturday, May 27, 2017

Chabot named CHL Defenceman of the Year

Thomas Chabot has been named the Canadian Hockey League's Defenceman of the Year.

This afternoon's announcement wasn't a huge shock. Chabot has been considered one of the best players in junior hockey all year, winning the MVP award at the world juniors, QMJHL playoff MVP award, and the QMJHL Defenceman of the Year award.

From a CHL press release:

Ottawa Senators prospect Thomas Chabot of the Saint John Sea Dogs is the CHL’s Defenceman of the Year after scoring 10 goals and 35 assists for 45 points in just 34 games played. The 20-year-old from Ste-Marie-de-Beauce, QC, was also a member of Canada’s National Junior Team earning a silver medal and Tournament MVP honours at the 2017 IIHF World Junior Championship. The 18th overall pick in the 2015 NHL Draft helped the Sea Dogs to a first place finish in the QMJHL this season. Finalists for the award were Edmonton Oilers prospect Ethan Bear of the Seattle Thunderbirds and Darren Raddysh of the Erie Otters.

The 20-year-old recorded two goals and two assists in four games at this year's Memorial Cup.

Chabot is the first Sea Dog to win the award. He's the first QMJHL player to win the honour since Moncton's David Savard in 2010.

Here's the full list of CHL Award winners:

Top Prospect: Nolan Patrick, Brandon Wheat Kings
Top Scorer: Sam Steel, Regina Pats
Sportsman of the Year: Nick Suzuki, Owen Sound Attack
Humanitarian of the Year: Tyler Wong, Lethbridge Hurricanes
Scholastic Player of the Year: Sasha Chmelevski, Ottawa 67’s
Coach of the Year: Ryan McGill, Owen Sound Attack
Rookie of the Year: Nico Hischier, Halifax Mooseheads
Goaltender of the Year: Michael McNiven, Owen Sound Attack
Defenceman of the Year: Thomas Chabot, Saint John Sea Dogs
Player of the Year: Alex DeBrincat, Erie Otters

Sea Dogs head coach Danny Flynn was nominated for the CHL Coach of the Year Award.

No comments:

Post a Comment