Monday, May 29, 2017

Windsor Spitfires win 2017 Memorial Cup

The Windsor Spitfires are 2017 Memorial Cup champions.

The Spitfires won their third Canadian Hockey League championship with a 4-3 victory over the Erie Otters on Sunday night at the WFCU Centre.

The victory ended a perfect run for the Spits at the Memorial Cup, going 4-0 with two wins over Erie to go along with victories over Saint John and Seattle. Windsor has now won 12 straight Memorial Cup games going back to 2012.

It was a thrilling game with both teams leading at certain points and neither leading by more than a goal.
Windsor's Aaron Luchuk scored what proved to be the game winner at 5:07 of the third period. The Otters had some terrific offensive pressure happening throughout the third but could not beat Spitfires goaltender Michael DiPietro, who was by far the best netminder in the tournament.

The Otters came this close to tying it late:
The loss ends quite a run for the Otters, who completed their fourth straight 50-win season. They still won the OHL title this year (their only title during this four-year run), which is impressive.

Erie was understandably upset with tonight's loss, but perhaps went a little too far.
This is Windsor's first Memorial Cup championship since 2010. While the Spits' first-round elimination definitely puts a different feel on this victory, you have to give them credit. They looked fantastic in this tournament after such a long layoff.

The Spits are the first non-league champions to win the Memorial Cup since Shawinigan did so in 2012.

The OHL has now won three straight Memorial Cups with Windsor winning this year, London in 2016 and Oshawa in 2015.

Next year's tournament will be hosted by the Regina Pats.

No comments:

Post a Comment