Thursday, May 11, 2017

Chabot named playoff MVP

Thomas Chabot has, unsurprisingly, been named the QMJHL's playoff MVP.

Chabot was awarded the Guy Lafleur Trophy as the playoff's most valuable player following the Saint John Sea Dogs' President Cup clinching 5-1 win over the Blainville-Boisbriand Armada on Wednesday.

The defenceman finished the post-season with five goals and 18 assists in 18 games. He also finished the playoffs with a +29 rating, an impressive number even if you're not a fan of the stat.

A big story of the final two games was the amount of ice time being logged by Chabot, which was tracked by RDS' Stephane Leroux.
Chabot is the first defenceman to win the award since Danny Groulx in 2002 and just the fourth all-time.

Saint John's Jonathan Huberdeau won the award in 2011 and Charlie Coyle did so in 2012.

Earlier this year, Chabot was named the MVP of the World Junior Hockey Championship.

No comments:

Post a Comment