Monday, May 28, 2012

Phillips Named Most Sportsmanlike Player

Saint John Sea Dogs forward Zack Phillips was announced as the winner of the George Parsons Trophy last night which is awarded to the most sportsmanlike player at the Memorial Cup.

“Zack Phillips of the Saint John Sea Dogs scored three goals and one assist for four points in four games of the 2012 MasterCard Memorial Cup,” states the Memorial Cup website. “Accumulating just four penalty minutes in the tournament, the 19-year-old from Fredericton, New Brunswick, is a Minnesota Wild prospect selected in the first round of the 2011 NHL Entry Draft.”

The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League swept the Memorial Cup awards. Here are the other winners:

Stafford Smythe Memorial Trophy (Most Valuable Player) – Michaal Chaput (Shawinigan Cataractes)
Ed Chynoweth Trophy (Top Scorer) – Michael Chaput (Shawinigan Cataractes)
Hap Emms Memorial Trophy (Outstanding Goaltender) – Gabriel Girard (Shawinigan Cataractes)

The Memorial Cup All-Star Team was also announced but no Sea Dogs were named to the list. Here are the All-Stars:

Goaltender – Michael Houser (London Knights)
Defence – Jarred Tinordi (London Knights)
Defence – Brandon Gormley (Shawinigan Cataractes)
Forward – Austin Watson (London Knights)
Forward – Michael Chaput (Shawinigan Cataractes)
Forward – Henrik Samuelsson (Edmonton Oil Kings)

The top individual award winners and tournament All-Stars for the 2012 MasterCard Memorial Cup as selected by NHL Central Scouting.

No comments:

Post a Comment