Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Gallant finishes second in Jack Adams voting

Embed from Getty Images
Former Sea Dogs head coach Gerard Gallant finished second in NHL coach of the year voting.
Barry Trotz of the Washington Capitals won the Jack Adams Award.

Gallant, Trotz and Dallas Stars head coach Lindy Ruff were the finalists for the honour, which was presented on Wednesday night at the league’s annual awards show.

Gallant led the Panthers (47-26-9, 103 points) to the Atlantic Division title while setting franchise marks for wins and points. Florida had a franchise-record 12 game win streak from Dec. 15 to Jan 10, a record seven-game home win streak (Dec. 10 to Jan. 3) and a record six-game road win streak (Dec. 15 to Jan. 10). In Gallant's second season behind the bench for Florida, the Panthers improved by nine wins and 12 points from a season ago. Gallant is a first-time award finalist.

Gallant coached the Sea Dogs from 2010-2012, guiding the team to three straight regular season titles, two President Cup championships and a Memorial Cup title.

No comments:

Post a Comment