Monday, March 27, 2017

Chabot, Flynn nominated for awards

Two members of the Saint John Sea Dogs have been nominated for QMJHL awards.

Thomas Chabot has been nominated for the Émile "Butch" Bouchard Trophy, which is awarded annually to the league's top defenceman.

Chabot, who started the year with the Ottawa Senators, recorded 10 goals and 45 points in 34 games with Saint John. He missed the start of the year while with the Sens and another month while playing with Team Canada at the world juniors.

Guillaume Brisebois of the Charlottetown Islanders and Samuel Girard of the Shawinigan Cataractes have also been nominated. Girard led all QMJHL skaters in assists this season with 66 in 59 games.

The last Sea Dog to win the top defenceman award was Simon Despres in 2011.

Behind the bench, Danny Flynn has been nominated for the Ron-Lapointe Trophy, which is awarded annually to the league's top coach.

Gilles Bouchard of the Rouyn-Noranda Huskies and Joël Bouchard of the Blainville-Boisbriand Armada are the other nominees. Interestingly, Gilles Bouchard won the award last season while  Joël Bouchard won the previous year.

Flynn previously won the award in 2009 while with the Moncton Wildcats. Gerard Gallant was the last Sea Dogs head coach to win the honour, claiming the trophy in 2010 and 2011.

The Golden Puck Awards will be held April 5 in Quebec City. The full list of nominees can be found here.

No comments:

Post a Comment