Sunday, May 22, 2011


FINAL: Mississauga 2, Kootenay 1

MISSISSAUGA, Ont. – The 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup hosts have their first win.

Rob Flick scored the winner at 11:51 of the third period to give the Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors a 2-1 victory over the Kootenay Ice in the third match of the Canadian Hockey League championship tournament on Sunday night.

Kootenay’s Cody Eakin opened the scoring at 7:55 of the first period on a power play to give the Ice their first lead of the Memorial Cup. But the Majors quickly tied it up as Russian forward Maxim Kitsyn netted his first of the tournament to make it a 1-1 game.

It would remain scoreless until Flick’s third period marker.

JP Anderson made 32 stops in the Majors net to end his club’s three game losing streak. Nathan Lieuwen allowed two goals on 34 shots.

Mississauga outshot Kootenay 34-33 even though the Ice outshot them in both the first and second frames.

It was a tight, physical affair that had its nasty moments. The Ice were already without their captain, Brayden McNabb, who was serving a one-game suspension for his elbow to the head of Owen Sound Attack forward Joe Hishon.

Kootenay is now in a major hole with a 0-2 record. As mentioned throughout the broadcast, only one team has ever come back from dropping the first two games to win the Memorial Cup.

The Ice play their final game of the preliminary round on Tuesday against the Saint John Sea Dogs. The Sea Dogs must face Owen Sound first, though, a game that will be played tomorrow at 8:00 pm.

Mississauga closes the round-robin on Wednesday against the Attack.

Photo Credit: The Globe and Mail

No comments:

Post a Comment