Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Sea Dogs Announce Season Opening Roster

The Sea Dogs have announced their 2015-16 season opening roster.

The 23-man roster consists of two goaltenders, seven defencemen and 14 forwards. Via a Sea Dogs news release, here is the full roster:
A quick glance at Saint John’s roster shows some inexperience in net, a staked and young defence core and some quality depth up front. This should be an interesting season.

Saint John’s three overage players will be goaltender Marc-Antoine Turcotte, defenseman Adam Bateman and forward Sam Povorozniouk. Their two import players will be defensemen Jakub Zboril and Oliver Felixson.

The Sea Dogs will be shorthanded to start the season with nine of these players attending NHL training camps – Jason Bell (Calgary Flames), Thomas Chabot (Ottawa Senators), Jakub Zboril (Boston Bruins), Samuel Dove-McFalls (Philadelphia Flyers), Bokondji Imama (Tampa Bay Lightning), Mathieu Joseph (Tampa Bay Lightning), Adam Marsh (Detroit Red Wings), Nathan Noel (Anaheim Ducks) and Spencer Smallman (Carolina Hurricanes).

To help fill some of the holes that will be left during NHL camp time, the Sea Dogs have or will call up defensemen Ian Smallwood and Pierre-Luc Lurette and forwards Ben Reid, Ryan Kenny and Will Kelly.

Saint John’s season opener is on Sept. 12 at Harbour Station against the Halifax Mooseheads.

Photo: Marc Henwood/Station Nation

No comments:

Post a Comment