Thursday, April 26, 2012

A Rare OT Loss

Something very rare happened on Tuesday night in Chicoutimi – the Saint John Sea Dogs lost a playoff game in overtime.

The Sea Dogs have played nine overtime games since their first playoff appearance in 2008. Tuesday was just the second time they lost an OT game and the first since 2009.

Tuesday’s game ended an impressive six-game playoff overtime winning streak. Their last win came last May when Alexandre Beauregard scored the President’s Cup winner in Gatineau.

Here are all nine playoff games that have gone to OT in Sea Dogs history.

YearRound, GameOpponentScoreScorer
2008Round 2, Game 6at Bathurst5-4 WinPayton Liske
2009Round 1, Game 1at Cape Breton5-4 LossJoey Haddad
2010Round 1, Game 4at PEI2-1 WinTomas Jurco
2010Round 4, Game 4at Moncton3-2 WinNick Petersen
2011Round 2, Game 4at Victoriaville5-4 WinJonathan Huberdeau
2011Round 3, Game 1vs Lewiston5-4 WinStephen MacAulay
2011Round 4, Game 4at Gatineau4-3 WinRyan Tesink
2011Round 4, Game 6at Gatineau3-2 WinAlex Beauregard
2012Round 3, Game 3at Chicoutimi5-4 LossEtienne Brodeur

What’s with all the 5-4 games?

Saint John didn’t lose a game in overtime during the regular season. This was their first OT loss regular season/playoffs combined since January 15, 2011 versus Drummondville.

No comments:

Post a Comment