Monday, October 20, 2014

Non-Canadians Dominating Rookie Race

I got some news for you: there aren't many Canadian players in the top 10 of QMJHL rookie scoring.

1Kay SchweriSherbrookeSwitzerland25
2Dmytro TimashovQuebecUkraine23
3Evgeny SvechnikovCape BretonRussia19
4Yakov TreninGatineauRussia17
5Adam MarshSaint JohnUSA14
6Dennis YanShawiniganUSA13
7Filip ChlapikCharlottetownCzech Rep.13
8Alex Barré-BouletDrummondvilleCanada11
9Egor PopovBathurstRussia11
10Mathieu BoucherRouyn-NorandaCanada10

This is certainly nothing new in the QMJHL. Nikolaj Ehlers won the rookie scoring race last season, Valentin Zykov in 2012-13, and Mikhail Grigorenko in 2011-12. St. John’s native Zach O’Brien was the top scoring rookie in 2010-11.

It's worth noting that, among other things such as import player ages, only nine of the 20 players selected in the first round of this year's QMJHL Entry Draft were forwards.

Photo: Marc Henwood/Station Nation

No comments:

Post a Comment